Category Archives: PIP Law
PIP is, personal injury protection insurance. What that applies to is that is your own insurance that covers 80% of your medical bills and 60% of your lost wages. You’re required in Florida to have your medical bills first paid by your own insurance company which is the PIP coverage. It pays at 80% and […]
Property damage and liability coverage is another coverage that Florida requires you to carry if you own a vehicle. Property damage and liability covers if you cause damage to someone else’s vehicle, then that coverage would pay for the damage to the other person’s vehicle.
Florida is a no-fault state. So, what that means is that as the owner of a vehicle, you’re required to carry what’s called PIP or personal injury protection benefits. What PIP is is PIP pays your own medical bills. If you’re injured in a car accident, your own insurance through PIP pays 80% of your […]
If my insurance company sends a request for me to do an examination under oath, do I have to attend?
Examinations under oath are a rare occurrence, but if you are asked to do one, that is your own insurance company asking you to do it, and you are in fact required to attend that examination under oath because it is part of your insurance policy.
In order for your own PIP benefits to cover your medical bills at 80%, treatment must be initiated within 14 days of your collision. Therefore, it is very important that you get some treatment within the first 14 days of your collision. Otherwise, you will not be allowed to have your PIP coverage pay for […]
In Florida, motorcycles do not require [PIP] coverage, so it is important if you’re on a motorcycle and injured by someone else, it’s their fault, to determine if they have liability coverage. You can use your health insurance, if you have health insurance, for your injuries, but your only way to recover your other damages, […]