Category Archives: Car Accident Law
Will I have to go to court for my Florida auto accident case?
Going to court in a Florida accident case is a rare occurrence these days. And what I mean by that, is that most cases are settled without having to file a lawsuit. The small percentage of cases where a lawsuit is filed generally gets settled either at a mediation or negotiations leading up to mediation […]
Will my Florida auto accident case be affected because I gave a recorded statement to the other driver’s insurance company?
If you give a recorded statement to the other driver’s insurance company, it could affect your case and that largely depends on what you said in the recorded statement and is it consistent with what occurred? And then subsequently, if we go into a lawsuit setting and you give a deposition, then the insurance company […]
Who will pay for my rental car following my Florida car accident?
Generally speaking, if the person that injures you has insurance and causes damage to your car, they will also have an allowance for a certain amount per day for you to have a rental car. Now, that is not provided in every policy, but generally speaking, you can get a rental car from the insurance […]
Who pays for my injuries if I am injured in a Florida car accident?
If you’re injured in a car accident in Florida, your medical bills will be paid at 80% through your own insurance, which is called Florida No Fault PIP. In addition to that, you can make a claim for the other 20% of your medical bills as well as any pain and suffering, non economic types […]
Who is going to pay for my medical expenses following my Florida car accident?
For your medical expenses in Florida, you are required to first have your bills paid through your no fault PIP coverage. This will pay 80 percent of your medical bills. You then can recover the 20 percent of your medical bills from the at fault driver from their liability insurance.
What should I look for in hiring an attorney to represent me in my Florida auto accident case?
What you should look for in hiring an attorney for your automobile accident cases. First of all, you want an attorney that you gonna have access to. That’s gonna talk to you, not just hand you off to someone else. You also, clearly want an attorney that does auto accident cases, if not exclusively, predominantly, […]
What should I do if the insurance company offers me a check right away?
If the insurance company offers you a check right away to settle your case, you should be extremely cautious about accepting that. Oftentimes, insurance companies in Florida will try to settle the case very quickly by offering a small amount of money and unfortunately many clients will do that without consulting with an attorney. But […]
What is uninsured motorist coverage used for?
Uninsured motorist coverage is used to cover your damages from injuries from an accident if the other driver who is at fault does not have bodily injury liability coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage is an optional coverage in Florida, but every person should purchase uninsured motorist coverage because liability coverage is not required in the state […]
What is the statute of limitations to bring a Florida auto accident case?
The statute of limitations in Florida for automobile accident cases is four years for negligence in general. If the automobile accident case results in a wrongful death, then the statute of limitations is two years. Now what the statute of limitations means is that you have this period of two years or four years to […]
What is the purpose of obtaining uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage?
The purpose for obtaining uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage in Florida is to cover you in case you get hit by a driver that has no liability insurance for injuries. Unfortunately, the state of Florida does not require a driver to carry any coverage for liability coverage, so it is particularly important to carry this […]
What is the first thing I should do after a Florida car accident?
Immediately after a Florida car accident, you should notify the police and make sure a police report is done and make sure, of course, you identify any and all other drivers involved in the accident. Also, take photographs of any damage to any of the vehicles, whether it’s outside the vehicle or inside the vehicle. […]
What is no-fault insurance?
Florida is a no-fault state, so Florida requires you, as a automobile owner, to carry coverage for your own medical bills. Florida no-fault coverage is called personal injury protection insurance. If you own a vehicle, you’re required to carry coverage called personal injury protection, which will pay for your medical bills at 80% and lost […]